2019 Storm U22 China International Youth Open Championships
Chinese Taipei youths dominate third squad
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6

26th July, Shanghai: Chinese Taipei youths dominated the third squad of the qualifying preliminaries of the 2019 Storm U22 China International Youth Bowling Chaqmpionships with Liao Li-Yang, Chen Chia-Hsing and Lan Shao-Kang finishing one-two-three.

China's Yang Zhengpei and Zhong Fang Yu set the early pace with an opening game of 235 to share the lead just one pin ahead of Macau's Cheang Chi Him in second. Malaysia's Ahmad Azriq was third a further one pin away with Chen and Lan following closely behind.

Chen blitzed the lanes with a superb 257 to take over the pace while Liao, who started off with 214, added a splendid 242 to take up second spot. Zhong slipped to third despite a good game of 215 with Azriq dropping down to fourth.

Lan responded with 256 in the third game to lead the pack as Chen paced himself well with 210 following his compatriot in second. Liao dropped one spot to third as others fell out of contention for the lead.

Top 3 Taiwanese, Chen Chia-Hsing, Liao Li-Yang and Lan Shao-Kang

Liao ended the block strongest with 233 to finish the squad on top with 911. Chen settled for second with 902 while two-handed Lan completed the top three positions for Chinese Taipei with 898. A second Malaysian, Hazeem Azriel and Azriq rounded out the top five with 898 and 888 respectively.

With all three squads having completed their first block of four games, Squad B winner, Yuma Haraguchi of Japan remained in the lead with 980. Boco Wong of Hong Kong also remained in second with 977 and Squad A winner, Chi Mingyu of China in third with 939.

Squad C leader could only finish seventh overall behind Malaysia's Abner Loo in fourth, Jeremy Breitenstein of China in fifth and Natalie Ang Jie Min in sixth positions. The players wil resume with their second block of four games ending the qualifying preliminaries.

The top 44 with the highest pinfalls including a six pins handicap allocated to the girl's division at the end of the two blocks, will qualify for the finals scheduled for July 28. The finalists will bowl four games with pins carried forward from the preliminaries.

The top 16 with the highest pinfalls at the end of the finals will advance to the best-of-three Round of 16 knockout matches. The winners will advance to the quarter-finals, again in the best-of-three knockout matches.

Leader of Squad C, Liao Li-Yang

The winners will then proceed to the semi-finals and subsequently the final, again in the best-of-three knockout matches to determine the champion. The top 3 winners will be awarded trophies with attractive cash prizes.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Shanghai, China.

| Back |