20th Asian School Tenpin Bowling Championships
Fourteen countries vying for glory
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Medal Album

6th July, Hong Kong: Eighty boys and fourty-two girls from a total of fourteen countries will be vying for glory at the 20th Asian School Tenpin Bowling Chamnpionships which will be held from July 7 to 12 at SCAA Bowling Centre.

The players were confirmed during the team managers meeting held at the Lecture Theatre, 2nd floor of Olynmpic House, Caroline Hill near the bowling centre. Australia, Kuwait, Philippines, Saudi Arabia, Singapore and host Hong Kong are fielding two boys teams.

Australia, Philippines and Singapore are also fielding two girls teams while China, Guam, Japan, Macau, Qatar, Chinese Taipei and United Arab Emirates are fielding one boys teams each. Newcomer, Oman has two boys to debut in the championships. Hong Kong, Japan and Chinese Taipei are also fielding one girls team each.

Before the meeting stared, Ms Vivien Lau, Organizing Chairman and World Bowling Secretary General, welcomed the officials to this year's championships and extended her gratitude for the support shown by the federations who have sent their teams.

Members of the head table at the meeting

She also extended her utmost appreciation to Asian Bowling Federation for its support, confidence and endorsement of HKTBC as host of this 20th Asian School Tenpin Bowling Championships. Dr Danny Santos, Tournament Director kicked off the meeting by going through the technical matters pertaining to the championships.

He also introduced members of the head table starting with Mr Frankie Chueng, Host Tournament Coordinator, and members of the Jury of Appeal comprising of Mr Alexander Lim, ABF Executive Committee Member and Mr Winston Chan, ABF Honorary Auditor.

Four events will be contested consisting of Singles, Doubles, Tean of 4 and Masters Finals. The top 16 boys and top 16 girls based on their standings in the All-Events (after 18 games played) will qualify for the Round-Robin Matchplay Masters finals to be held over two blocks of eight game each.

The top 3 boys and top 3 girls with the highest pinfalls at the end of the Masters finals will procedd to the Stepladder shootout finals. The official practice is scheduled for tomorrow (July 7) followed by the official opening ceremony to be held at SCAA Bowling Centre in the evening followed by a welcome reception.

Competition will kick off with the Singles (July 8), Doubles (July 9), Team of 4 (July 10) and the Masters finals (July 11 and 12) culminating to the Stepladder finals.

Ms Vivien Lau welcoming team officials to this year's championships

Only medals won by A Teams will count towards the boys, girls and overall champion title. A victory banquet will also be hosted by HKTBC at KITEC, E-Max in Kowloon Bay on July 12 commencing at 7.00pm local time.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Hong Kong.

| Back |