H.H. Emir Cup 2023
Sweet success for Swede
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Results

9th December, Doha: 2010 champion and fifth-seed, Kim Bolleby of Sweden captured the H.H. Emir Cup 2023 for the second time after defeating top-seed, Naif Oqab of UAE, 257-226 in the all-lefty Step 5 final.

The 33-year-old newly-wed Swede ousted two Hong Kong, China nationals, third-seed Ivan Tse and fifth-seed, Wu Siu Hong, 259-214-230 in Step 3 final to advance to the next step. Bolleby was equally ruthless when he beat Step 1 winner and second-seed, Timmy Tan of Malaysia, 264-222 to reach the title match.

The champion started off better than Oqab in Step 5 final with a strike while the Emirati spared his first frame. Oqab then rolled three strikes-in-a-row from the second to the fourth frame to open up a slight gap as the challenger managed to spare his second and third frames.

But The Swede picked up his pace and begun to string strikes after srikes from frame four up to the tenth frame making Oqab playing catch-up. Bolleby went to to end the match with 257 to Oqab's 226 to win the coveted title for the second time.

Kim Bolleby of Sweden winning the H.H. Emir Cup for the second time

Bolleby picked up the top prize of US$25,000 as champion while Oqab settled for US$16,000 as first runner-up. Tan earned US$12,000 as second runner-up while Tse and Wu went home with US$8,000 and US$6,000 respetively for finishing fourth and fifth positions.

In the earlier Step 2 finals, Tse did most of the running and kept the lead until the final game when he suffered a poor 154 to drop down to third with 1690. Oqab topped the final with 1696 followed by Tan in second with 1692.

Bolleby ended strongly to snatch fourth spot with 1689 relegating Wu into fifth position with 1684. Keith Mark of Hong Kong, China was in the top 5 but fizzled out with two poor games to miss the cut by 13 pins in sixth.

The President of Qatar Bowling Federation, Mr Abdullah Al-Qattan along with the secretary general and ABF Exco Member, Mr Bandar Al-Shafi and members of the tournament committee were on hand to present the prizes and trophies to the winners.

Top 4 winners, Oqab, Bolleby, Tan and Wu with their prizes

Photos by Terence Yaw in Doha, Qatar.

| Back |
Video Streaming
Detailed Scores
Sanctioned by

Supported by
Ministry of Youth and Sports Qatar Logo
Organized by
QBF Logo