35th Asian Intercity Bowling Championship
Eighteen cities set for championships
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Medal Album | Results

7th January, Taichung: Fourteen member cities, three guest cities and host city, Taichung are set to compete in the 35th Asian Intercity Bowling Championships at Yahuan Bowling Center from January 8 to 12, 2024.

Member cities are Dededo and Tamuning from Guam, Happy Valley, Hong Kong, Kowloon and New Territories from Hong Kong, China, Jeju from Korea, Macau, Kuala Lumpur, Petaling Jaya, Shah Alam and guest city Penang from Malaysia, Paranaque and Pasay Cities from Philippines, Singapore and guest city, Jurong from Singapore and new member city and host, Taichung and guest city, Taipei.

64 Men, 36 Women, 44 Senior Men and 28 Senior Women totalling 172 bowlers from the 18 cities have been confirmed at the Team Managers' Meeting held at Maison De Chine Hotel this evening.

The meeting kicked off with a welcome speech from Mr Johnson Cheng, President of the Asian Intercity Bowling Council (AIBC) during which he thanked all the cities for the support in taking part in this 35th edition of the championships. He also thanked new member city, Taichung for hosting the championships for the first time.

Executive Council Members of AIBC at the head table during the meeting

Mr Joey Miranda III, Executive Secretary of AIBC, who is also the Tournament Director, chaired the meeting and kicked off with a roll call before getting straight into the technicalities of the championships format which included going through the schedule of events.

Mr Miranda will be assisted by Ms Michelle Wong, AIBC Executive Council member and Ms Wang Ya-Ting, Host Tournament Manager. Mr Cheng assisted by Mr Richard Lai, 1st Vice President of AIBC conducted the lane draw for the Singles, Doubles and Team of 4 events for the four divisions, namely Men, Women, Senior Men and Senior Women.

The Jury of Appeal comprise of Mr Richard Lai and Mr Frankie Cheung, AIBC Executive Council member. The official practice session divided into three squads will be held tomorrow starting at 9.00am local time. An official opening ceremony will be held at 3.00pm followed by a welcome reception at the bowling center.

Competition will kick off with the Singles preliminaries on January 9 and 10, split into two squads for the Women and Senior Women and the Men and Senior Men divisions. The top 4 with the highest pinfalls for each division will proceed to the medal rounds.

Four games each player will contest the Doubles prelimiaries. on January 10 and 11, will again be split into two squads for the Women and Senior Women and the Men and Senior Men divisions. The top 4 with the highest pinfalls for each division will proceed to the Bakers' Format medal rounds.

The Team of Four prelimiaries to be played in Baker's Format on January 11 and 12, for all divisions. The top 4 with the highest pinfalls will proceed to the medal rounds. The top 16 for all divisions, based of their respective All-Events standings will qualify the the Masters Elimination Knockout finals on January 12.

Mr Richard Lai assisting Mr Johnson Chenng in the lane draw

Special awards will also be presented to the division champions as well as the overall champion city. The championships will conclude with a victory banquet hosted by Taichung City. The championships will have live video streaming, courtesy of Asian Bowling Federation.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Taichung, Taiwan.

| Back |
Video Streaming
Detailed Scores
Sanctioned by

Supported by

Organized by