42nd Malaysian International Open Bowling Championships 2024
Total Malaysian domination in Round 1 finals
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Results

4th May, Petaling Jaya: Malaysian national bowlers totally dominated the Open Masters Round 1 finals of the 42nd Malaysian International Open 2024 with Nur Syazwani Sahar and Muhammad Hariz Adlan topping their respectively Women's and Men's division on Saturday.

Intan Qistina of MSN Sabah got off the block with a a sizzling 259 in her opening game to lead Anna Andersson of Sweden by 5 pins with national podium squad member, Siti Safiyah Amirah in close company with 245. Qistina's lead lasted only one game as Andersson took over the running after adding 216 in her second game.

Promising national podium squad member, Faten Najihah moved into the lead with 237 after starting with 209 and 223. The Swede slipped to second, 3 pins adrift after the third game. But it was Andersson who showed consistency with another 207 in the fourth game to regain her lead.

A third national podium squad member, Nur Syazwani Sahar made her mark with a stunning 247 in her fifth game after amassing 884 from her earlier four games to take over the lead. Ex-international and five-time Malaysian national champion Sharon Koh leapfrog into the lead with 279 and 238 in the fifth and sixth games.

Top 3 finishers in the Women's Open division, Sharon Koh, Nur Syazwani anf Faten Najihah

Nur Syazwani slipped down to second, 25 pins behind Koh while Andersson dropped her pace to slip out of contention. Nur Syazwani ended the 8-game Round 1 finals with 236 and 276 to clinch top spot with 1836. Koh kept well her pace to finish second with 1752, 84 pins adrift.

Faten Najihah took third spot with 1749, a further three pins away. Alyaa Addini Zulamri and Natasha Roslan rounded out the top five with 1716 and 1700 respectively followed by Andersson in sxith with 1687. The top 12 advanced to Round 2 finals and will be joined by the six seeded qualifiers from the general standings.

Meanwhile Malaysian nationals dominated the Men's Open division by finishing 1-2-3. National youth, Muhammad Hariz Adlan topped the round with 1812 after a keen tussle for the lead with Sunway Megalanes' Matthew Ong Tzi Ming. A second national youth, Megat Zaqrul Haiqal Bin Megat Zairudin took second spot with 1761.

Last year first runner-up and national podium squad member, Muhammad Hafiz Zainuddin completed Malaysia's domination in third position with 1745. Matthew Ong settled for fourth with 1727 while the best Singaporean was Cheah Ray Han of SBF in fifth position with 1712.

Defending champion, Rafiq Ismail had a scare after dropping down to 20th position with a disasterous 167 in the ninth game but recovered with a brilliant 267 in his eighth and final game to make the next round in ninth with 1698.

The top 16 finishers will advance to Round 2 finals tomorrow for another 8 games. The top 3 Women and Top 3 Men at the end of the Round 2 finals will proceed to the Stepladder knockout finals to determine the champion. The top prize for the Men's Open is a whopping RM50,000 (approx. US$10,500) and the Women's Open top prize if RM30,000 (approx. US$6,300).

Megat Zaqrul Haiqal, Muhammad Hariz and Muhammad Hafiz finishing 1-2-3 in the Men's Open division

| Back |