Welcome to abf-online.org Link to WTBA 
Home About ABF Our Affiliates News & Results Calendar Asian Ranking Guestbook
    only search this site  
News & Results Title
Brunswick World Tenpin Masters 2004
Brunswick World Tenpin Masters 2004 to kick off in April

1st March, London: Matchroom Sport are pleased to announce that the seventh annual Brunswick Tenpin Masters 2004 will take place from Friday to Sunday 2nd, 3rd & 4th April at the Goresbrook Leisure Centre, Dagenham, East London.

The Goresbrook is a familiar enough venue for bowling fans and this will be the fourth time the Masters will be played out in East London. As in previous year's, the prize fund will be a sizeable US$60,000, with the winner's pay cheque staying at $30,000

World tenpin Master 2004

Back to defend her title will be last year's shock winner Nikki Harvey from Southampton. In 2003, the unfancied Harvey cut a swathe through the male tenpin bowling elite as she beat Gery Verbruggen, Tore Torgersen and Lasse Lintila before putting paid to Australia's Andrew Frawley in the final.

All four of those bowler's will be back for revenge as well as previous winners Tim Mack - who turned pro with the PBA in 2003 - and Shalin Zulkifli.

Although spearheaded by defending champ Harvey, Brits Phil Scammell, Kirsten Penny and newcomer Zara Glover will also be in the line-up as they attempt to keep the Masters' title in Britain.

Nikki Harvey
Nikki Harvey from Southampton, England to defend title

With a roster of three bowling events - the Brunswick Masters, the Weber Cup and the AMF Bowling World Cup - Matchroom Sport have established a tried and tested formula to highlight televised bowling at its best.

This consists of a single lane with banked seating on both sides to give the event the kind of high-pressure atmosphere that makes the Brunswick Masters the world's leading televised bowling tournament.

The format is straight knockout, with each match being over two games, with total pin fall determining the winner.

In all, bowlers from the following eleven nations will be represented - South Africa, Philippines, Australia, UK, Sweden, Finland, USA, Qatar, Norway, Belgium and Malaysia.

For further information, contact Keith Hale.

Story by Keith Hale, Bowlers Journal

Detailed Scores
Round 1
Santioned by