Welcome to abf-online.org Link to WTBA 
Home About ABF Our Affiliates News & Results Calendar Asian Ranking Guestbook
    only search this site  
News & Results Title
ABF News
Paeng Nepomuceno rated World's No. 1

18th November, 2004: Four-time World Cup champion Paeng Nepomuceno has been rated World’s No.1 by the prestigious Bowler’s Journal International in its cover story entitled "World’s Greatest Bowlers" in its recent September 2004 issue.

The article entitled "Global Greats" was written by former editor and publisher Mort Luby, Jr., who also named a world "dream team" led by Paeng Nepomuceno and four other world champion bowlers.

In describing Paeng, Luby said, "The best male bowler of all-time? You’ve been on an extended vacation to another planet if you don’t know the answer to that one. Paeng Nepomuceno has won the Bowling World Cup a record four times, beginning with his amazing debut as a teenager at the 1976 edition at Tehran. He won the WBC again in 1980 in Jakarta, 1992 in Le Mans and 1996 in Belfast. He won the top seed in all four triumphs.

That’s just for starters. Overall, the 6-foot-2 left hander has captured more than 100 titles, many of the major variety. Small wonder that the FIQ named him "Bowler of the Millenium" and that the Philippine Sportswriters said he was the Filipino Athlete of the Century.

Paeng Nepomuceno
Paeng rated World’s No.1 by Bowler’s Journal International

Shortly after he won the 1999 World Tenpin Masters in London, Paeng’s active career appeared to end. Bothered by an increasingly sore wrist, he underwent a complicated surgery that left him with much less flexibility in the wrist. After a two-year layoff, he began practicing with an 8-pound ball. Now he’s back winning tournaments again: nothing big, just a silver and gold medal here and there. At 47, he’s certainly one of the most durable campaigners we’ve ever seen.

The Guinness Book of World Records has listed Paeng with two outstanding records. The first, as the one with the most World Cup Championships and the second, as the youngest to win a world title.

In the Philippines, Paeng was the first to be awarded both the prestigious Legion of Honor medal and the Presidential Medal of Merit. As an international Hall of Fame awardee, Paeng’s life-size photo is displayed in the entrance of the Bowling Museum in St. Louis, Missouri, U.S.A.

The other four bowlers that compose the world dream team are; Amleto Monacelli considered as the best global male pro who has won 18 PBA titles starting with a 1987 tournament in Tokyo. The Venezuelan has won nearly $2 Million in a career that led him to be named in the PBA Hall of Fame, Finnish Mika Koivuniemi on the other hand won the 1991 FIQ World Masters championship, the 1995 European Individual Cup and plenty more and was named in the World Bowling Writers Hall of Fame. Since turning pro in 1999, he has won the 2000 ABC Masters and the 2001 U.S. Open that led him to become the PBA Player of the Year season, 2003-04.

Sweden’s Mats Karlsson was named Sweden’s Bowler of the Year eight times thanks to his victories in the European Ballmaster Tournament (twice). He hooked up with the PBA and won three titles.

Tomas Leandersson also from Sweden has won the 2000 World Cup in Portugal and has also won the World Games, the Bowlmaster, the British Open, the Irish Open, and various European and Scandinavian titles.

Norway’s Tore Torgensen makes up the last of the 6-man dream team. He won the 1994 World Cup in Hermosillo, won the Masters gold in the 1997 European Championships and was a gold medalist in both 1995 and 1999 World championships. Tore won the 2002 World Tenpin Masters to become the first 2-time winner.

Media released by Dr. Danny Santos, FIQ Secretary General.

Quick Link
World Tenpin Team Cup
18th Nov: Team USA grabs slender lead in the Men's first 8. Full story...
3rd Guam Open
31st Oct: Evelyn Chan, Remy Ong scores double for Singapore. Full story...
ABF Tour - Indonesia
10th Oct: Narrow wins for the Champions. Full story...
2nd Indonesia Open
8th Oct: Ahmed Shaheen, Liza Del Rosario crowned Masters Champions. Full story...
18th Asian Intercity
3rd Oct: Purvis Granger claims Masters title. Full story...
5th Qatar Int'l Open
16th Sep: Singaporean Remy Ong crowned 5th Qatar Open Champion. Full story...
ABF Tour - Singapore
12th Sep: Singapore and Chinese Taipei veterans prevail in the finals. Full story...
37th Singapore Open
10th Sep: Tim Mack, Liza del Rosario crowned 2004 champions. Full story...
South Pacific Classic
5th Sep: Top qualifiers takes South Pacific Classic titles. Full story...
8th World Youth C'ship
8th Aug: Yannaphon Larpapharat, Jennifer Petrick crowned Masters champions. Full story...
PBAP Classic 2004
21st Jul: Alex Liew captures Open division PBAP Classic title. Full story...
18th Asian Championship
13th Jul: Korea, Chinese Taipei ends championship with win in Masters. Full story...
World Ranking Masters
26th Jun: Diandra Asbaty, Mohd Khalifa crowned World champions. Full story...
ABF Tour - Philippines
13th Jun: Two World beaters claim Philippines leg titles. Full story...
33rd Boysen-PBC Open
11th Jun: Joonee Gatchalian, Sarah Yap emerges as 2004 Champions. Full story...